Tuesday, 2 December 2008

Continuous initiative example

About my Continuous Initiative house rule post, a commenter asked...


I'm intrigued, but having a really difficult time envisioning how this works. Can you post an example?


So I figured why not, lets post an example of how this works and how it benefits lightly armoured characters using three household fantasy characters - Gandalf, Gimli and erm Jeffry.

My scanner is currently out of commission so I cant show you the chart I drew, but imagine the below list of 'phases' draw into a sort of square with arrows connecting them to show a clockwise direction and you will have what I used in the game session.

Anyway, here is a quick example, between three combatants.

Gandalf the grey has no armour (G) and for some reason has forgotten his magic staff today and is instead using a dagger (G). This puts him in the GOLD category.

Gimli the Dwarf is wearing chainmail (S) and wielding a handaxe (S). This puts him in the SILVER category.

Jeffry the Uruk Hai is wearing platemail (ST) and wielding a scimitar (B). Steel is the lowest band he is in, as it is the closest to copper, so it determines that his initiative band is STEEL.

Recalling that the phase order is:
G,S,B,St,C,G,S,B,G,St,S,C,G,B,S,G,B,S,G,St,C,B,G,S,St

Combat would go like this...
G = Gandalf can act
S = Gimli can act
B = No one, skip it
St = Jeffry can act
C = No one, skip it
G = Gandalf
S = Gimli
B =
G = Gandalf [so fast he acted twice before Jeffry could act!]
St = Jeffry
S = Gimli
C =
G = Gandalf
B =
S = Gimli [now even Gimli has got an extra action in over Jeffry!]
G = Gandalf [and not to be outdone, so does Gandalf!]
B =
S = Gimli [three!]
G = Gandalf [three!]
St = Jeffry
C =
B =
G = Gandalf
S = Gimli
St = Jeffry
[Start sequence again.]

Towards the end there, the benefits of continuous initiative really come into play for both Gandalf and Gimli. That's if they've survived that long into the combat, of course, as light armour means they can be hit easily as per the normal rules. Also, remember that two opportunities to hit a highly armoured low AC character are not the same as two opportunities to hit a lightly armoured one, in the first case two hits are unlikely whereas in the second, two hits are very likely.

1 comment:

James said...

Looks a lot like the Scion/Exalted init wheel style of thinking.